Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should not be allowed to play games?

In modern society, with the prevalence of video games, more and more people fall in love with this, as same as some children. The phenomenon has given rise to grave concern about whether the children should be allowed to play games. Some people hold the view that the obsession with games will screw up their children’s life. As far as I’m concerned, children can have the right to be accessible to the games under the supervision of the parents.

Admittedly, some people may concern that the games are detrimental to some children. Fascination with something always come at a cost. It is conceivable that the games have a bad effect on students whose self-control ability is very weak. With the absence of the parents, the games will easily deprive the children of time and energy that are supposed to belong to their family and academy. Not only they will be indifferent to their family, but also will lose the interested to explore the real world. Needless to say, the game poses a significant threat to their physical and psychological health. Research has shown that the obsession with games can incur a series of negative emotion and behavior, such as burnout, quit school, depression, etc.

However, facing this problem, the responsibility of parents should not be ignored. In many cases, their control plays an essential role in the settlement. Children are very vulnerable to the stimulus contained in the games, and the vivid images and exciting plots can easily tempt them to be lost in the virtual world. Meanwhile, they haven’t built a solid concept of values and virtue of society, and there must be some guidance offered by older people. If the parents or other people help them choose the proper game and render some related help when playing the games, the children will be granted a favorable environment to enjoy recreation in a healthier way. Imagine such scenery, if a kid plays a game with the accompanies of his parents, and can get adjustments in time, on no account will his generate obsessive “passion” that urge him to engage in the activities.

In addition, some games do have a function to further children’s knowledge. It’s common that the scientists attach importance to the role that games play in one’s education period. Children can be equipped with the background of physical, chemistry, biology, astronomy, etc, through the games. Innovation and creativity can also be inspired. A good example in this point is that a nine-year-old boy generated the idea to develop his own games, encouraged by some games designed for children. He gained the knowledge of programming and designing on his own and eventually, an app came out. This app can be bought in the Apple store, and one day they even publish an interview of him.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that children should be allowed to play games on occasion that the parents offer adequate help to them, and the inspiration stem from the experience with games can also lead to overall development in the future.