Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Competition among friends usually has a negative effect on friendship.

Use details and examples to support your opinion.

Friends indeed play an important in every phases of our lives, without them life is boring and bland as well. In this contemporary world, competition is every where and friends are no exception. But does this competition within friend circle has negative impact on their friendship or it is profitable to them at large? I believe that the benefits of having competition among friends far outweigh any negative repercussions.

First of all, competition plays a significant role in attaining success. Success is the root behind all competitions, everyone here is in the race of chasing their goals. To remain focused towards the whole journey of achieving dreams, there comes the role of competition. Competition motivated people to work hard and remain dedicated towards their goals and achieve them in any case. Thus, the feeling of competition inspires the individual to live the life of his dream and to attain the growth in all aspects of his life.

Secondly, competition helps in getting more knowledge. People want to obtain more information than their friend in order to remain ahead of their colleagues, friends etc. Therefore, it creates the more informed and aware citizens in the society. This indeed makes their friendship more strong as people always seek company of their own level or standard. For instance, When I was pursuing undergraduate program, I and some of my good friends cleared a tough competitive exam for a government job. Even though we were very competitive to get good marks with each other , but in the end we only, those who cleared the exam end up with a strong friend circle, and now we are always ready to help each other in any type of problem even though a feeling of competition still exists among all.

In addition to aforementioned points, some people might be of the opinion that competition spoils the friendship, I disagree. I think that everthing that competition among friends have to offer is tremendously beneficial to the people at large.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that feeling of competition among pupils makes them more aware and informed citizen and helps in achieving success, thus helping nation at large.