Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The essential question of the prompt is whether the parents could be considered to be the best teachers. Some people, if asked, might agree with the statement mentioning their childhood and remembering how their parents put the most effort to educate their kids while others would elaborate on the double edged situation because of too many factors involved. As far as I am concerned, I adopt the firm position that parents more often that not should not be considered the best teachers because for different children parents vary and, besides, parents can not know what their child will need on his or her way to a better life.

No one would disagree that parents are different. Some might be well-educated high profile executives, while others might be working their entire life on a plant without ever even going to college. I think that the level of education that these two types of parents can give their kids is distinctly different. I was lucky to be born to a family with parents who graduated from one of the finest universities of Ukraine and still was taught of what I know and believe is important at kindergarten and school. Others, like my childhood friend Denis, may not be in that brilliant position. Denis’ parents have not even completed their high-school because they had to work hard to make a living. When Denis was born they had to work even harder to support now 3 members of family. On our occasional conversations Denis sometimes recollects that he has never heard of any word of instruction from his parents. Thus, if you’re not lucky enough to be born to parents who are capable of becoming teachers, but as it happens too few parents qualify.

Admittedly, some people might argue that parents are the best teachers on the premise that they influence children the most as children see them do something and copy their actions, habits and often attitude to life. However, such position should be taken with a grain of salt. Those assertions are most likely to be made under the assumption that parents spend enough time for their children to observe them which does not always hold true. Indeed, a research by VM institution in Ukraine together with my own observations has provided me with a clear picture of parentship in Ukraine where economic state so bad that usually people have to work hours on end to make a living.

In summary, while there are various perspectives and viewpoints on the issue, it is clear that there more supporting arguments to claim against the statement that parents are best teachers because of the different type of parents that children can be born to and the amount of time parents spend with their kids. I suggest that maybe instead of focusing on the idea of parents being the best teachers we as a society try to raise more qualified teachers to give our children the best knowledge to succeed in their lives. Subsequently, we may have more happy and cheerful children walking in the streets. After that, isn’t what we all want?