Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Universities should require every graduation student to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Copy Cut Paste Word Count: 394

In the competitive world, communication skill plays an important role in people's life. Some people think that universities should make public speaking courses compulsory for every student, while others might be of the opinion that such type of courses are waste of time for the students. Personally, I believe that public speaking courses should be taken by every graduation student for the betterment of their professional as well as personal life.

Good speaking skill can do wonders in the career path of students as it provides several benefits. Firstly, it helps in communicating in correct way. A person having tremendous knowledge of his field but he is unable to deliver it properly to others, then such type of knowledge is useless and their is no meaning of gaining high level of information. Secondly, it reduces fear and fill up with confidence to excel in job work. Thirdly, it helps in getting success in every step of professional activities like interview, office work, promotion etc. Thus, by taking a single course students can attain several skills and can make their future bright.

Furthermore, good leaders are always good public speakers. To bring positive changes in the society, country need good leaders. Hence, universities can provide such skilled leaders to the country. For instance, one of my office mate had a dream that every youth of the coutry should have at least basic education and empowerment skills. He than started a volunteering organization with just two people and it then flourished with 2500 plus volunteers in just two years. This all was the result of his extraordinary communication and public speaking skill. Thus, such courses are also beneficial for country's growth.

In addition to the aforementioned points, some people might be of the opinion that such courses are just the hindrance to student's core study. However, the advantages of taking public speaking courses carry more weightage than just obtaining the bookish knowledge. Additionally, a research conducted on Campus placements by CSR institute in India shows that 90 percent of the companies absorb students with good public speaking skills, while only 10 percent look for students with more technical knowledge.