Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Educating young people about healthy food is important and should not be the job of families alone it should also be the responsibility of schools to teach their students about healthy eating

From my perspective, in addition to the family education, it should also be the responsibility of schools to teach their students about healthy eating.

First of all, one reason lies in the schoolteachers' authority and their far-reaching influence on students. Young learners tend to trust their teachers and regard them as role models. Such complete trust means that schoolchildren may obey their teachers’ instructions. Therefore, if teachers teach them the importance of healthy eating habits, students will stand a better chance of sticking to them. My younger brother Jack can serve as a prime example. As a 7-year-old primary school student, Jack had a sweet tooth and his love for chocolate led to obesity. To improve his fitness levels, I kept warning Jack of the severe consequences of excessive sugar intake but my constant efforts failed. However, since his school placed a lot of emphasis on an organic diet, his teachers started to shape his behavior, helping him to resist the temptation of chocolate candies. Gradually influenced by this, Jack shifted his option from unhealthy foods to healthier ones. From this case, we can clearly see that schools have a more profound effect on students than family.

Some may argue that parents now have greater awareness of balanced diet and they can fulfill their role as caregivers well, so schools' main responsibility should focus on improving the academic performance of students. However, this is not always the case. A cruel fact is that some parents themselves may still underestimate the importance of a healthy diet. Even though they know such importance, busy parents may not have what it takes to educate their children well because they have to cope with heavy workloads and juggle multiple tasks. Even if they do squeeze in some time for their children, they are not professionally trained like dieticians. Parents' lack of knowledge and their bias about food may contribute to children’s bad eating habits. In this case, it is important for the school to take responsibility and correct students' misconceptions during their developmental stages. Usually, schools equipped with advanced technology can facilitate this process, especially with the help of teaching tools like slide shows and visually stimulating images.

In conclusion, it is crystal-clear that educating young people about healthy food should also be the responsibility of schools.