Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

A controversial debate is raised about the quality of good leaders. Some people hold the view that good ;leaders should not take into consideration other people's ideas. However, some others may have a different view and believe that it is better to be open minded and listen to other people's ideas. Form my vantage point, I concur with the later group for that open minded people can enhance their knowledge and be more communicative with others.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that by listening to others leaders can enhance their knowledge. leaders who are open minded take the opportunity to listen to people and learn from them. Without listening to the concerns of others a leader would be able to accomplish his tasks properly. A vivid example which can illustrate by view is a leader who were asked for a an increase in wages from his employees. After several years of continuous demand by employees for a wage increase and without any response by the leader, many of the top performing employees quite the company.

The second reason which deserves some attention is that leaders who listen to others make employees happy. Employees who feels that they are nobody is listening to them develop low self esteem and loose motivation. An important duty of a leader is to keep employees motivated. Without motivation cannot perform their functions and feel frustrated. Thus a smart leader would consider encouraging employees to work more by listening to them.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason which worth to be mentioned. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible study that was conducted in 120 leaders which showed that leaders who listen to others are 50% more chance of succeeding in their careers than their peers who implement their own view. The study was conducted leaders from different organizations to prevent bias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reason, one soon realizes that leaders who listen to other gain more knowledge and is able to talented employees.