Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A good leader should spend more time listening to other people’s ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

Nowadays, teamwork and being a part of a group is an essential part of every individual’s life and the fact that being in groups, things go better and faster is obvious to everyone. However, the role of a group leader cannot be undertaken at all. Actually, most of the people think that a group leader should listen to other’s opinions more than taking his or her own ideas. But, I somehow disagree with the statement for some specific reasons which will be covered in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a group leader is usually a person who is decisive, confident, and able to manipulate multiple tasks simultaneously. Well, according to this definition, when we set a person as a group leader, we have accepted that they have the potential to manage all the things properly. Consequently, when a group leader makes a decision, all the group members should trust the act and do their best to achieve the group goals.

Secondly, I believe that a leader must be a good listener and accept better ideas. So, this is true that a leader should spend more time listening to other people’s ideas, but this must not conflict with the idea that they are the ones that must decide. Precisely speaking, this means that a great leader must listen to members’ ideas, get the best ones, gather all the things, and improve the actual ones followed by the group member. This way, they not only respect other members’ ideas but also reach to better results since two brains, definitely work better than a single brain.

Finally, yet importantly, listening to all people’s ideas and not having a single one to follow results in anomalies. To illustrate, imagine that you are a part of a travel group and you all want to reach the peak of a mountain on your trip. Actually, here, you must take a path to follow and reach the destination and the leader is the one that must choose the best path. But, if he or she doesn’t have any ideas at all and just listens to others’ opinions at each level, the group may face too many difficulties and dangers during the trip.

To sum it up, I myself think that a good leader is a person who observes a balance between listening to others’ opinions and taking their own ideas. Because this avoids failures and anomalies, and instead, builds trust, success, and helps to achieve the aims in a shorter period of time. So, apart from being a good listener, a leader must be a master-mind and lead people to success by being decisive, confident, and open-minded.