Do you agree or disagree with the following statement A good leader should spend more time listening to other people s ideas than taking his or her own ideas

As time passes and human beings become more developed, people become more acquainted with the importance and characteristics of a leader. Schools, universities and academic clubs are trying to rear juveniles for the future generation. Nowadays, it is proved that undoubtedly, each prosperous’ society once have had a top-notch chief that has built the infrastructures. It is opined by some that a good boss should focus more time on his/her ideas while this essay is trying to refute this notion. Throughout the following paragraphs, among the most predominant reasons in support of this contention higher efficiency and broadening the horizons will be meticulously scrutinized to advocate this standpoint that an eminent head should be a good listener.

To commence with, it is obvious that each leader will be assessed by its achievements. Pioneers scramble to amend the current position in favor of a better future. When a boss materializes its staff’s needs, it helps them to be mentally satisfied and then consequently, they work harder, and more efficiently. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what has elaborated above. Here, I elucidate one of my own experiences. About four years ago, when I was working at RIS Lab., most of the employees suffered from the solid ambiance and air there and workforces didn’t have rest intervals. In primary stages, workers decorated their surroundings with vases and happy colors but it didn't occur any significant output. Finally, crews decided to negotiate with their boss upon this matter to permit them to have some short recovery intervals. Not only did it have impacts on their creativity and efficiency, but also it aided them to be closer and feel that they are a family.

Furthermore, listening to others’ opinions not only helps them to become informed about other possible solutions and viewpoints but also diminishes the risk of mistakes. In most of the hectic situations, regarding the experience of stress and pressure, people may make the wrong decision and inevitably, leaders are not the exception of this fact. To more clarify the condition, I mention the outcome of one fieldwork conducted at AUT School to probe the role of an empathetic boss, who listens and pays attention to staff’s requirements, on companies’ advancement. About 80 employees into two separate groups, one of them had permission to participate in meetings monthly and the other has no right, studied for five months. Amazingly, the results showed that the chief who consulted with employees has gained more favorable outcomes than and the error rate has decreased to less than 2%. Accordingly, listening to others’ notions broad your horizons and minimizes the error rate.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that listening is counted as a secret weapon for good leaders and as different people have distinct thinking caps, it boosts leaders’ thoughts and as a result improves productivity and helps them to have a decisive verdict in dilemmas.