Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age of financial crisis, budget constrain is one of the most prevailing problems of the governments across the globe, so they must choose between activities in terms of allocating money. In this vein, an overwhelming majority of population believe that government officials should set aside money for art. Meanwhile, the others holding different viewpoint state that the budget must be spent on athletics. I, personally, utterly agree with the former group for two substantial reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, sponsoring sport teams is synonymous with cultivate the sense of belonging in people. To be more specific, in the past, there were many wars in the world, and nations in this way showed their power to the other ones and increased nationalism among people. Throughout history, that insatiable desire for showing off the power has not altered, and competing in the sport field become the new demonstration of old wars. In this regard, endorsed by the government, sport teams can achieve many medals in different competitions, so people can glorify their country making them more unify. On the other hand, supporting art is nothing but the waste of money because art has huge wealthy supporters. In this vein, if an artisan be a sophisticated one, the art fans fund him themselves, so there is no need for allocating tax-payers’ money to that.

Another noteworthy point is that endorsement of sports teams can lead people to be more physically active. To put it in a more vivid picture, nowadays, most, if not all, people are exposed to a sedentary lifestyle, which increases the risk of plenty of health problems, so they need physical exercise to mitigate this problem. Supporting sports teams can lead the athletes to become celebrities, which can have a significant impact on people's health due to the fact that people have an inherent zeal to imitate the well-known individuals. As a result, by spending money on sports teams, the government can indirectly inculcate exercising in members of the society. On the contrary, not all people have the same taste in art, so if the officials allocate money to the art, there always will be a part of the society that cannot make a connection the promoted art, so that individuals cannot exert the allocated dollars.

In conclusion, government must allocate money to the sports teams. This is because not only does that endorsement help people in life, but also sports can unify people.