Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of a doubt, governments should devote their budget to the subjects that can benefit societies and people. The point here is to choose the option that can offer more value to people. Although some persons think sportsmen and athletics need more support from the public sector in comparison to the artists, it is my firm conviction that spending the tax-based budget on the assistance of artists is more beneficial for our society. In what follows, I will elaborate on what rationale my perspective is based on.

The first and foremost reason is that artists need more money in order to keep on their works and build some masterpieces. It is an indisputable fact that it is difficult to make a living as an artist. On the one hand, rarely are people inclined to pay money for art. On the other hand, being a good and influential artist required them to take art as their single and full-time job. Therefore, they need to be under the help of the government to continue their profession as an artist. Take my cousin's experience as a compelling example. When he was a 21-year-old boy, he decided to be a painter. Aiming to be a real successful painter, he spent a huge amount of money to buy essential materials and equipment. At first, he was very talented painter who was praised by many people. However, after three years of striving to improve his skills and advertise his art works, he was not able to earn any considerable money. Had he been supported by the authorities, he would be able to continue thriving in his art.

The second pivotal vindicating reason is that the arts are part of our history and culture. Thus, there must be sufficient efforts to preserve them. If we cannot assist our artists, our arts will be diminished soon. As a result, there will be some externalities, and our culture might be affected. In this situation, neither people nor governments would be able to do anything effective for conserving our culture. Notably, today's arts are the products of a very long history that have passed many generations to reach us. Letting them be hurt will allow future generations to remember us as the killer of the long-standing precious assets. In this regard, we should undertake any effort we are capable of, such as supporting by money, to help them grow.

Furthermore, it is good to mention that many sports are already under the support of different private businesses. For instance, all of the soccer clubs are sponsered by big and famous private companies. With this in mind, they don not even need any grants from the public sector.

To put it in a nutshell, I believe that in the line of supporting the arts or athletics, the governments should choose the former. This is mostly due to the facts that artists are in need of more money to cover their costs, and we should also try to sustain our arts, and finally, most of the sportmen do not need any assistance from government.