Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

From museums to gyms, arts and sports make up for the entertainment life of the public, which raise the attention of governments as well. Some critics propose that it's wiser for governments to invest in art instead of sports career. However, from my perspective, Spending money on athletics might be more reasonable.

To begin with, investment in sports, known as state-sponsored Olympic teams, would be more influential to the public. As is known to us all, sports activities are quite significant part of our daily life and everyone needs to do some exercise such as running, swimming and so on to keep healthy. Thus, people would have a deeper understanding in certain sport games or races those Olympic teams attend. On the contrary, the art is quite abstract to laypeople. No matter what forms the art could be, such as sculptures or drawing masterpieces, they are too sacred for common people to appreciate. Only those who are well educated could understand those works. Thus, if governments afford more support to artists, constructing more museums or galleries, it seems that no so many visitors ,except for some talents ,would obtain benefits. Since governments ought to plan their budget from a huge picture, which means the policy is bound to benefit more people, investing in athletics would be more meaningful.

Besides, spending money on athletics would have an optimistic chain effect on citizens, such as raising enthusiasm in sports among the public, which further prompt the whole level of healthy situation of the country. Just I wrote ahead, everyone is able to do some sports everyday. It's feasible that if governments attach more importance to state-sponsored Olympic teams and help them gain brilliant prize in certain games, the public would be inspired by their successful story. The China women's nation volleyball team, which won many prizes in Olympic games last century, had fostered the Chinese public to spare no efforts to sports , just like this champion team and improved national health level. But art is something people fail to keep in touch with routinely. An artist must be educated for many years under a extremely professional education system before he would appreciate certain art or create works. Although investments in arts might capture people's attention on this domain, the effect wouldn't work long. Since they actually don't have a capacity of appreciation in arts.

In a nutshell, governments are supposed to spend more money in support of athletics rather than arts because sports are something closer to people's life. Also, sports would be helpful for a wider range of citizens.