Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is hardly to deny that history is of vital importance, and such idea lead to some people generate the idea that all university students are supposed to take history courses, regardless of their major. However, this statement contains both factual and logical drawbacks, and it should be re-examined meticulously. With effectiveness and efficient factors taken into consideration, I strongly suggest taht it is not reasonable for all university students to take compulsory history courses.

Firstly, it is undeniable that history is essential, but this subject is not suitable for everyone. Since in the university there are various majors, it indicates that the preferences of different students vary from each other. For those who are devoted into history, taking history courses do contribute a lot to them. On the contrary, for students who are not interested in history, making them take compulsory history courses is just like a nightmare. Aiitionally, to examine the educational quality, there will be exams at the end of the semester. To pass the exam, those who are not good at history may need to try their best to memorize every single point on the textbook. What is worse, they are not likely to get good grades, which may frustrate their enthusiasim on other courses.

In addition, taking compusory history is just a waste of time for most of the students whose major is not history. For students who have the passion on history, they can study history by themselves after class. For others, taking such courses will only occupy their spare time and may even make them fail on their own major courses. Take the case of my friend Alex, an ordinary student majors in engineering. Last semester, he was required to take compulsory art courses. He was not in favor of art at all, but due to college regulations, he had to take the 3-hour course twice a week. At the end of that semester, though he was quite busy with his major couses, like calculus, physics, he still needed to spend time on the final exam of the art course. As a result, he nearly failed some of his majors courses, which made him upset. What is more impressive is that this kind of phenomenon is not isolated. Universities tend to require students to participate in courses that are not related to their majors, which consume much time. Without these compulsory courses, it is believed that students will be more engaged in their own majors.

Indeed, taking history courses can broaden horizons, but its time cost should be considered. For those who are interested in history and have spare time, they can choose to learn by themselves whenever they want. Since most students are busy with their major courses, extra compulsory history courses are not plausible.

In a nutshell, after analysing related advantages and disadvantages, I do hold the point of view that taking history courses is not necessary for all university students.