Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is hard to deny that making many new friends is the ability that fascinates the majority of people. This kind of iead may make people to generate the idea that having new friends can bring them much happiness. However, af far as I am concerned, this statement contains both logical and factual fallicies. Since personal and group aspects are considered, I do hold the point of view that maintaining friednships with a small number of people during a long time contributes greatly to happiness.

First of all, owning close relationships with few people can help you when you are having problems. Since you possess this relationship for a long period of time, your friends and you must know each other well, which indicates that these friends are the ones you need the most when you are confronting difficulitits. Take one case of mine, an ordinary student in China. When I was a fresh man of the university, everything seemed new to me. At the first few weeks, I could hardly catch up the pace of normal campus life, since it was the first time for me to fly to another province and live in a dormitory with other three students. When I was upset and frustrated by my own campus experience, one of my senior school classmates contacted me through Wechat and we had thorough discussions for several time. Had it not been for his help, I wouldn't get used to the fast pace of university in a short time. Thanks to him, smile showed again on my face and I bacame more outgoing ever since. In fact, such situations may occur on many other people. It is the help of their close friends that contributes to solving their current obstacle and make them be in a good mood.

In addition, having a group of close friends can help you make progress together in academic field. From my personal point of view, having academic discussions with close friends can make all of you have a deeper understanding of the subject you learn. At the end of last semester, toghther with three of my friends, we reviewed our major courses together and communicated with each other about our own understandings of certain point in the subject. When the final exams came, all of us were not afraid of them at all. Without our collaborating study, I believe we would not be that confident.

Indeed, the ability to making many new friends easily is intriguing, but what counts is not the number, but the quality. Only when you have contacted with your friends for a period of time, can you say that you truely have "friends".

In a nutshell, because of the analysis above, I sincerely suggest that maintaing close relationships with a small group of people during a long period of time is of greater importance. Though some people may oppose me, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.