Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In contemporary society, people begin to pay much attention in the field of arts and sports. While some peole supposes that the goverment should devote money to support are, I have an opposite idea. With outcome and social influence considered, I do think that athletes should be fianaced by the giverment.

First of all, with the financial support from the government, athletes are likely to gain better grades in high-level sports competitions. With enough money, training facilities can be updated and elite trainers can be hired. Athletes with more scientific training methods have the possibility to improve their proformances during competitions. Take the example of Su Bingtian, an Chinese runner who broke the record of asian runners of the 100-meter race in the 2020 Olympic game. In the interview, Su mentioned that it was the support of Chinese government in better sports suits and training facilities that contributed to his huge success. Without these finances, he would not make such great achievements.

In addition, devoting money on athletics field can help to improve the national health level of ordinary residents. With more athetes performing well in world wide competitions, commmon people are supposed to be inspired by their perfromances. This idea can be illustrated by my personal experience. When I was a 10-year-old kid, the report of the first Chinese NBA player Yao Ming encouraged me to paly basketball. This kind of passion motivated me to keep playing this sports alomost every day after school. It is the devotion in sports that brings me a healthy body. In fact, such a example is not unique. People who are inspired by famous athletes and begin to paly sports are countless. Thus, with the money supported by goverment in athletics, it is believer that more people will engage in sports and the overall health condition will be further improved.

In deed, spending money in art field does contribute to producing more famous art pieces, but its effectiveness is still on doubt. What matters for arts is not the money, but the time and the social influence. Compared with arts, athletics are more eager for financial help.

In a nutshell, devoting money to support athletics by the government seems to be an plausible choice, since it can promote athletes to have better performances on world wide competitions and influence more people to participate in the soprts field to exercise themselves. That is way I am of the opinion of that governments are supposed to give more financial support to athletics.