Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?. Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Recently there is a heated debate on the budget for arts and athletics. Arts let people embrace the world of a wonderland by admiring all the beauty. Athletics shows the strength of the human body. Personally, I think the government should invest more in the arts.

First of all, it’s crucial for the overall health of citizens. Admittedly, physical health is disturbing when we talk about obesity and cancers, and we are truly afraid of these diseases. but nowadays the mental well-being of nationals has been a more severe concern across the country because the pressure of earning a living, pursuing advanced studying, or socializing is threatening to cause people to burn out. And there are few places serving as relaxing resorts for common people. Therefore, if the government allocates more money to arts, such as building new art museums or just making the street walls more artful, I believe it will place citizens as the beneficiaries. For example, when a teacher finishes a long day of teaching and feels exhausted, then she or he chooses to visit an art museum, all the paintings or statues are going to make her or his pain and pressure go away really quickly.

In addition, arts are overlooked seriously. As many are aware that we often overlook and ignore arts in daily life. This is the result of overemphasizing utility from the individuals to the government. In viewing this situation, the government should be generous in money to incorporate arts into school education and festivals. If there are loads of arts festivals in cities, it’s no doubt that the awareness of arts is bound to be aroused.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the government should spend more money on arts rather than athletics. The critical role of arts should never be ignored.