Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people might think artists are less important compared to athletes who earning honor for a country in Olympic Games. Therefore, governments put a lot of money in support of athletics rather than arts. From my perspective, arts, indeed in the near several years, need more money support from the government.

Arts have their own special functions to benefit the whole society. Modern life has become very developed, people do not have to worry about lack of living materials. However, pursuing higher life in spiritual is advocated. During which, enjoying art is a fantastic way to improve ourselves which make life colorful. Imagine this a world without music and painting, life would be definitely boring. Besides, art is also a good way to boast the economy. For instance, Paris is thought to be an art center. Every year, many tourists visit there for big museums and art exhibitions which has been an important part of its economy. What's more, it is obvious that investing art has other countless benefits.

Arts are so essential from the above explanations, but there is a fact that arts have be overlooked by our government. Evidences are shown below. First, more money has been put into supporting athletics that into arts. Different salaries can be a convincing fact. Athletes in the national team get much more money that people who also works for the national museum. Second, when you go a sports game, you can see many sponsors' advertisements, but there are few in a music concert. Therefore, it is easier for athletes to get funds, because they are thought to earn glory in Olympic Games for a country.

While the athletics only help people to strengthen bodies to some extent, arts take a more important role than athletics in other aspects. Thanks to the special characteristics of arts, they can give us an eye to think about life deeply and imagine the future lively. You can see that many famous, for example, Qianda zhang who lived two thousand years ago, have been memorized and his masterpieces in painting have been appreciated by people today. On the contrary, few athletes can be still memorized one thousand years later.

If I were a senator in government, I would give more supports to arts projects. Based on what I have explained above, successive money should be sent to support arts' development.