Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A big debate always takes place when the government considers decisions of where to spend revenues. Some people believe that taxpayers' money should be spent more in support of the arts than in support of athletics. However, I disagree with this point of view. In my opinion, I believe arts and sports are equally important and deserve some subsidies from states.

First of all, sports could be as beneficial for the economy as arts. Unearthing artistic talent positively contributes to the society. A country without artists will have less or no genuine venues for people to enjoy watching or learning about art. It will lack museums, movie theatres, galleries and other places for artistic shows. As a result, the employment rate will suffer as there will not be job opportunities that these places usually offer for the masses. Similarly, having a national team plays a vital role in the economy of the city or the country as it provides more work opportunities for ordinary people. In addition, tourists from outside the country usually come to watch sports events which also guarantees a booming economy. For instance, I remember when the sports team in my city was negotiating with our city council over the stadium that was leased for them in our neighbourhood, and they were not able to reach a deal, people started to talk about the issue that this team was considering leaving the stadium. I was terrified as this place was providing hundreds to thousands of jobs to the residents who were, in turn, paying local taxes and if they left, it would be a big loss for my community. Hence, athletic or any sports teams are one of the first things that officials should take into account when discussing how they could wisely invest tax revenues.

Secondly, spending money in supporting athletics is essential for the country to be well-represented during international tournaments. Funding athletic programs and facilitating enrollment will encourage more individuals to think about having a professional career in that field. Consequently, large number of well-trained professional athletes will compete locally to represent the country. Without having this local contest, the community will not have a powerful team. A more powerful team will have physical and emotional gains for their country. For example, players who win gold medals will provide more business opportunities such as signed t-shirts or other gifts. People around the world prefer to buy merchandise and watch shows for the winning and highly skilled sportsmen or sportswomen. Thus, a community that grows its athletic talents by all kinds of support will have a better economic stance than another community which might choose to ignore this realm.

In conclusion, athletics and arts are both essential for a society to thrive economically. This is because they both create job opportunities and the country could use brands from arts or athletics to promote business and welfare.