Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that from ancient times to this contemporary modern era, emperors and governments have been preoccupied with the concern that their society should be provided with diverse assortments of entertainments and activities; arts and sports are no exception to this very notion. While many policy makers and practitioners hold the opinion that governments should allocate considerable amount of budget on arts, others stand at the other side of the continuum, believing that financial concern should be directed towards athletic activities like Olympic teams. As far as I am concerned, governments should prioritize art and spend more money to support arts and artistic works. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that art is a good indicator of the historical, and cultural background of a community; the support of which is a lens through which people can gain knowledge about a country. To be more specific, when governments spend financial allocation to support are, they are indirectly influence on people's long-lasting desire to become acquainted with the historical and cultural background of a society. Undoubtedly, arts are precious treasury that will quench the thirst of people who are enthusiastic to become aware of the background and revolutions that have happened in a society. An example can drive this notion home. In Iranian context, various galleries and exhibition are being set up by financial support of the government, especially in metropolitan cities of Iran which attract considerable number of tourists. When tourists and foreigner visit these art galleries, they will become familiar with the beauty, uniqueness, and elaborated works of Iranian artisan which resembles Iranian's enriched historical and cultural background. The work of Mohammad Farshchian is a great example that pave the way for different people to not only appreciate the delicateness of the work, but also to learn about the cultural and historical values of Persian people in just one piece of work.

Moreover, arts and artistic works of any kind can be considered as a good source of income for many people; thus, government's financial support can make a change in artist's way of living. To put it in other words, there are many people and individuals who should be called an artist because the handwork they produce is unique in its own. Indeed, a lot of these so-called artists afford their living subsistence by selling and auctioning their products and items. When government support these individual, they will be positively reinforce to work even harder, and as a result the society's economic status will improve as well. Under such a circumstance, more and more people will call into working as an entrepreneurial in art galleries and make themselves bloom. To put it in a more vivid picture, Turkey- being known for its clothes fashion- started up an art workshop to find talented people. Having worked in these workshops and having a full command of clothing industry, these people earned their own money and as a result the economy of Turkey flourished and boomed.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that governments should spend money on art rather than sports. Not only will people gain money through their artwork, but also art can mirror the cultural and historical value of a society.