Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Arts and athletic activities are dispensable elements of evolved societies. Although none of them are of the primary needs of people, for numerous reasons they both play a crucial rule in the world. Actually, they give hue and add diversity to the mundane lives of the working class. Governments spend a huge sum in support of arts and athletics annually. However, many believe that governments should spend more money in support of arts rather than spending in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. It has long been a controversial issue which is not easy to reach consensus about. I disagree with the notion because of considerable reasons, some of which I am going to elaborate.

To begin with, with the advent of potent media technologies, athletic achievements can bring about glory to a country. The majority of people of different social strata cherish sports because in times of hardship it helps them relieve stresses. When a country's Olympic team conquer an opponent, the people of the country who are watching the game feel great excitement and satisfaction. In addition, when an Olympic team's endeavors pay off and they win a medal, the pertinent country's flag is raised in the stadium. The consequence is that the whole world would respect the country. It can attest to the nation's superiority and heighten its power and prestige among the other nations. On the contrary, although great works of art can also make fame for the countries, such works are a little scarce, mostly produced by self-trained ingenious artists, not the supported ones. They do not appeal to many people either. Hence, if countries crave making a name for themselves and satisfy their under-rule people, it is preferable that they support athletics.

Alongside what we discussed above; supporting athletic activities can enhance the health of society in multiple facets. First, athletic activities include a lot of participants who would be benefited from physical activity. Second, it is well documented that people tend to idolize athletic champions, and this can motivate them to imitate their lifestyle. It can induce them to do more exercise, eat healthier food and refrain from unhealthy behaviors such as smoking. exercise to a larger extent in an attempt to change into stronger, healthier individuals such as their mentors. For instance, my brother is extremely into soccer and somehow worships his favorite soccer player. Consequently, he always follows that person's pieces of advice about the outstanding effects of a healthy lifestyle entailing regular exercise and a healthy diet. Therefore, my brother goes to the gym every day to build a body suitable for becoming a successful soccer player. This new attitude helped him in contrasting aspects of his life from his physical health to mental and even intellectual development.

The last, but not the least; supporting athletic activities costs much more. There are many prerequisites that should be provided for such activities. First of all, athletics need an appropriate field to practice in and high-quality clothing and tools. Second, as they have to dedicate all of their time practicing for the competitions, they have to be well-paid so that they do not need to work on a secondary occupation. In addition, athletic activities are fraught with severe injuries, and the payments have to compensate for them too. Finally, athletics have to travel frequently in order to compete with others, and the plane tickets and hotel reservation costs are inevitable. It can be readily inferred that athletic activities need more funds than arts.

According to the aforementioned reasons; although many people may believe the other way, it seems that governments should spend more money in support of athletics. Despite the athletic activities being more costly, governments would gain glory and prestige in the world supporting them, and the health conditions in the society would improve too. Considering the status quo, it is recommended that governments do not take the advantages of athletic teams for granted. It's incumbent on them to support them financially by all means.