Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The technological advancements have developed many communication methods, most predominant of all the social media, through which celebrities have obtained a lot of opportunities to influence people. However, many believe that celebrities opinions are more important to the juveniles, a notion which I agree for two considerable reasons that I am going to explore here.

The first cogent reason is that young people are much more flexible than older people. They are open to new ideas and fashion. In fact, they are in a permanent search for these new things. On the other hand, as the older people's personality has already shaped, they have rigid strict principles and opinions that usually make them loath to accept new things. For example, consider the way adolescents dress or choose their hairstyles, and how this changes every year, while older people tend to dress as the same way for many years. Additionally, many older people don't feel comfortable with technology and avoid using it. They are usually out of the cyberspace that can connect them with the famous entertainers and athletes. On the contrary, young people have more access to social media, and they spend more time there, a fact which can intensify the effects of celebrities who use this medium to influence.

Alongside the reason above, celebrities are usually more popular and revered among younger people. Usually celebrities become the younger people's idols whom they conspicuously try to comply and imitate in lifestyle. Older people who are obviously wiser in such cases, usually reprimand younger people for their point of view and they don't care about celebrities. I remember when it was the election time in Iran, one of the candidates had paid celebrities to speak in their support. It had a profound effect on the young people, most of whom were so influenced that they voted for the candidate, causing him to win the presidential election.

According to the aforementioned reasons, although some people may disagree, the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people. Not only are they more open to new opinions, but also they respect celebrities more, the fact which makes them more liable to be influenced by celebrities. Young people should be aware of this effect and at least try to have some control over it.