Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In many countries, people tend to share their social and political views with the people they associate. In fact, it's a natural need for human to communicate with others, and the mentioned issues are usually controversial ones, they like to talk about. Teachers are not separated from other people, and as they have lots of opportunities in the classroom to talk, it seems inevitable for them to enter these topics. However, many believe that teachers should avoid talking about their social and political views. Personally, I believe that such restriction isn't logical, for some reasons which are elaborated here.

First, although the classroom is mainly a place to learn, it is also a part of society. It is somewhere that many people spend at least six hours of their day in it. It seems a violation of freedom of speech to force them not to disclose their social and political views. On the other hand, how can a teacher who is not allowed to talk about his opinions, ask students to think and discuss their opinions anyway?

Alongside the reason discussed above, social and political matters are also subjects that students should get familiar with. It is not always the math or science that can help you. While having a knowledge in the mentioned subjects can help you in your academic life and future job, having a wide horizon in social and political matters is a critical ingredient of being an effective part of society. For instance, students who participate in the presidential election ballot can have profound effect on the future of their whole country. While teachers have great influence on their students, they can make them aware of many social and political facts. The important point is that they should not try to induce their opinion and make the students think the way they think. Advertising for a special candidate for example should be banned for teachers.

According to what we discussed, it seems that it is not a good idea to prevent the teachers from disclosing their social and political opinions. Not only is it against the freedom of speech, but also it deprives students of acquiring social and political knowledge. However, the teachers should not try to induce their opinions.