Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making is a critical part of all of our lives which has a direct impact on our future and determines our success or failure. Many believe that in the past young people were too much dependent on their parents to make decisions, and today they are better able to make decisions. I agree with this notion for three considerable reasons, each of which are elaborated hereunder

In the past, acquiring knowledge was mostly dependent on experience. The older the people was the more experienced and sage they were, which made them more capable in making decisions or helping others to make decisions. In recent centuries, the structure of the societies have changed, and gaining knowledge has become mostly based on education. Today, the person who is older is not necessarily more aware and more informed. Instead, the one who has studied more has more knowledge, and so he doesn't need to ask for older people's help while making decisions about his own life. When I was younger, I used to confer my parents before making big decisions, for example when choosing a major in university. Later I found out that in many cases, especially those that are out of their expertise, their ideas can be misleading.

Alongside the reason above, technological advancements have provided a very helpful medium for research. By the advent of the world wide web, many people around the world have become connected to each other, and now it is easy to obtain a great amount of information about a variety of matters. Parents are not the only available source of information anymore.

The last, but not the least, the new methods of raising children has caused them to be more confident. Many children psychologists advise parents to ask children's idea about different issues while making decisions. It is believed that although they may not have enough knowledge in early ages, asking their idea can develop their induction ability, and also strengthen their confidence in coping with their own life quandaries.

In sum, it seems that in the current century young people are more educated, more confident and able to gain information more easily, persuasive reasons that cause them to be less dependent to their parents in making decisions. Although many may still prefer to be conferred, they should understand the change in the trend. Let's try to encourage the young in making the decisions.