Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples t

The influence of family, particularly parents, on the decision making process of the young generation in recent decades has always been an interesting topic for a lively discussion. In this regard, people’s opinions are often categorized in two mutually exclusive views. While some people believe that in the past, juveniles were more reliant on their parents to make decisions for them than in the present, others hold the opposite view. Personally speaking, I am more inclined to the former view and the following are the reasons to substantiate my standpoint.

To begin with, today the young generation is equipped with variety of avenues to attain a score of useful information that could be utilized to take thoughtful decisions on their lives without depending to the family. To be more specific, juveniles today have easy access to the internet and they can gather data on almost every possible topics that concerns them. In addition, as society communications becomes more sophisticated and intertwined, consultant agenices have emerged in recent years offering counseling services in economic, legal, and social affairs and young individuals, being aware of the adavantages of such institutions, effectively consult with them about any issue that might affect their lives. In contrast, young souls in the past were in short supply of the modern assistive means and the only reliable source of information ,with which they had most of their interactions, was the family, exclusively their parents. Only due to the parents’ experience on life matters, the youth entrusted them with the right of decision making for their lives.

Furthermore, due to the better economic conditions, nowadays young individuals can find a job more conveniently than their peers in the past,as soons as they reach the legal age,thus experiencing financial independence which leads them to develop a self-sustaining character. In other words, being independent from family means that youngsters feel less obliged to let their parents take charge of crucial decisions of their lives. on the other hand, in the past, most juveniles had to run the family business along with their fathers. Although this partly assisted them with the financial issues, it did not guaranteed the independence of economic and subsequently the complete autonomy in the life. Consequently, the youngsters were somehow compelled to depend on their parents to make decisions for them since they had not developed a self-reliant personality.

To sum up, I strongly agree that ,contrary to the present, young people were too reliant on their parents regarding their lives’ decisions. This is because, they did not were in possession of aiding means that the present generation takes advantage of. Also, due to the financial dependence to the family, they had not a complete autonomy to make their decisions by their owns.