Some lessons for young students (5~8 years old)increase their interest to learn including video games. But some people believe it will distract young students. What is your opinion? Why?

Today there is a lot of interest toward the innovative methods in order to educate young individuals aged between 5-8 years old. In this vein, one proposed method is to use video games as a medium to teach pupils in schools. However, some people criticize the implementation of this method and express their concerns regarding the negative effects it would have on children’s focus in school. Personally, I am in accord with those who support the integration of technology in the learning process and the following are the reasons to substantiate my view.

To begin with, thanks to recent breakthroughs in the computer industry and the development of powerful hard wares capable of processing huge amounts of data, the graphic of video games revolutionized in a way that interests children to engage with such hobbies more than ever. Accordingly, it provides a unique opportunity for education authorities to collaborate with companies working in the information technology (IT) sector and develop educational software for students. To elaborate upon my point, take my personal experience as an example. I gifted my 7-year- old niece on her birthday a language- learning game, which was designed to learn English to children through games. The graphic was astounding and she almost fell for it the minute I showed her how to use it. As a result, she plays the game every day and we could see how her language skills improve. The important point here is that she had attended an English class for about six months until then and she was not half as good as when she practiced with the game for two months. This clearly shows the effect of the video game on her learning and productivity.

Furthermore, the integration of various sophisticated learning technics such as artificial intelligence learning algorithms in video games has greatly affected the performance of video games enabling them to regulate based on their users’ needs. The mentioned ability would enhance learning in children by assessing the knowledge of students and determining appropriate learning algorithms based on their users’ intelligence. To be more specific, consider the language learning game I bought for my niece. In this game, there is a cat acting as an English teacher which intelligently designs future courses based on the overall performance of my niece in previous lessons. For instance, after twenty lessons, it detected that she has a strong ability to learn new words but her weak point is the pronunciation skill, so it designed the upcoming lessons emphasizing more in pronunciation skill. The unique autonomous learning algorithm in the game, meticulously arranged the study to improve her learning.

To sum up, given the points and examples mentioned above, I believe that today video games provide a great opportunity to design a smart learning framework for children. This is because not only does the outstanding graphic of video games is more appealing to children, but also through the intelligent learning process designed within the games, children’s learning will be optimized.