Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is the best way for teachers to help students become more interested in a subject by explaining how this subject can help students live better outside the school.

There is no doubt that in today’s world societies are constantly struggling to improve the quality of the educational system thereby increasing the productivity of students. In this vein, one method has been recently proposed suggesting that teachers incorporate the applications of courses, which are conducive to students, in their teaching in order to gain students’ attention. While there are contrasting views regarding the proposed method, I believe that it is an efficient approach and will help students to further engage in their study. The following are the reasons to substantiate my view.

To begin with, the reason that most students do not connect with classes and courses is that they find some of the materials they have been taught to abstract and irrelevance to their lives, so it does not appeal to them to properly pay attention to education. Imparting information related to the practical usage of some courses such as mathematics and physics, especially the opportunity of funding decent jobs if students master those sciences, clearly provoke their curiosity to know more, thus enhance their learning. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Back in high school, I had a physics teacher that used practical examples every time he wanted to introduce a new idea. He lectured us how the science of aerodynamic empowers huge airplanes to fight gravity and soar into the sky and we just enjoyed all these sophisticated codes and rules dreaming one day we will be able to practice and to work around those physics. As a result, we were eager to study physics and it was one of the interesting courses that I ever had in school.

Moreover, teaching courses by incorporating practical examples from the real world demonstrates the level of proficiency and knowledge of a teacher which makes them charismatic in a way that students are encouraged to study better just to become a sage person like them. Again, a personal example drives this notion home. During high school, the physics teacher I mentioned before was very popular between students and every one holds a respect for him because they thought that he is very intellectual. So students always attended physics class with their full attention to hear more about interconnections between physics mysteries and the actual world. In fact, at that moment, the dream of each of the students, including me, was that to be an erudite scholar like our physics teacher. Had he did not relate and unraveled those connections between the theoretical and real worlds, we were not impressed by his characteristics, as we saw him like our other boring teachers, and did not strive to study so hard.

To sum up, given all the points and examples stated above, I believe that the best way to attract students to their studies is to relate their studies with their lives. This is because not only does this approach enable students to observe connections with their lives, but also it causes students to be influenced by the charisma and knowledge of their teachers.