One of the most challenge problems in modern society is to have the most up-to-date skills for workplace. For solving this, government decides to give all adults over the age of 25 a training course to learn new skills. Do you think it is an effective way

Undoubtedly, having a decent job in this modern era is faced with lot of challenges since every career need employees to meet various skill and potentials. In this regard, whether government should be involved and provide general skill training courses for adults or not is a matter of debate. Personally, I believe that government should not spend money on this matter and the budget could be allocated to other sectors effectively for the reasons I am about to elaborate on in the following.

To begin with, given the extent of jobs and careers today are available in society, it is neither practical nor economic to plan and coordinate a general platform to educate adult workers skills required to fulfill job positions. The emergent of the internet reshaped the world as it introduces many new jobs and positions that haven’t existed before the technology era. Even today that we are in the middle of the Internet age, every day, due to the requirement of international technology market, new jobs are being defined and recruiting people. As a result, establishing a unique and ubiquitous framework through which worker can get proper training to adapt skill necessary for any job is not feasible and it also will exhaust considerable amount of state budgets in order to be operational in nationwide scale. Consequently, I believe that if government concerns about the competency of workforce should remedy this problem form stem. That is to say, it is better to plan a comprehensive framework to establish a modern education system that is able to nurture creativity and resiliency in children. Doing so, children learn from the beginning to adapt themselves with ever changing demands it is conducive to their future prosperity.

Moreover, I think it is a general trend that most companies and firms have their own procedure regarding the employment which includes number of tests and probation work experience, so certificate that has been issued to people out of their institution have less priority to the in this matter. To elaborate on this, my personal experience would be a perfect example. Last year, when I just graduated from university, I attended several independent vocational training programs which my senior friends told me that are conducive to land better job opportunities and find a decent job related to my major. After a whole year that I participate in such courses and get certificates, I applied for several vacancies. When I was invited to have an interview with the hiring manager of one company, to my astonishment, he didn’t mention to my training degrees and he just simply told that I had to spend a probation period with internal educations course. So this experience clearly shows that, all of those certificates did not have positive impact in y hiring process, since the company strictly followed its own recruitment agenda.

To sum up, given all the point and examples mentioned in the above, I believe assigning state budget to train work-related skill for adults is not a smart choice and it could be put in better use. This is because of the ever changing nature of jobs and advent of new positions and also because most companies do not heed state issues certificates since they have predefined procedure for recruitment.