TPO 40: Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that appealing children to study their courses and pay more attention to school activities has long been a concern for parents. In this context, various approaches have been experimented which one of them is rewarding children by paying money for their good performances. Although some might deem it is an effective method, I believe this approach has certain demerits that overshadow its advantages. In what follows, I delve into the reasons substantiating my standpoint.

To begin with, the concept of getting paid to study might be misinterpreted by Children. That is to say, when they look into financial transactions of society they find out that money is exchanged between two people only if either a service is provided to or a good is purchased by one side. So this misleading clue makes them believe that their distinct performance in school is a service that they are providing for their parents. They are incapable of seeing the bigger picture that good grades benefit them when they are grown up and searching for a suitable career. As a result, when they begin to earn money, for instance by having a part-time job, they do not see it necessary to provide the service mentioned before for their parents, thus paying much less attention to school.

Moreover, Pupils are not mature enough in financial affairs to wisely spend the money they get from their parents and they might waste it by purchasing useless objects or eating junk foods which can hinder the healthy development of their minds and bodies. The more pessimistic scenario is that children might lure into giving their cash to criminals that illegally sell drugs to students. Also, it is possible that older students bully them to give their money by force.

Finally, as the financial status of all families are not the same, some students might envy those whose parents can afford giving them cash. This feeling induces a sense of humiliation and depression in impoverished students and they reproach their parents for not being like wealthy ones. Numerous quarrels between children and parents could arise due to the contempt such children would develop against their families.

To Sum up, I believe that rewarding children with money for good grades is not a bright idea. this is because it causes children to misinterpret their parents action and become conditional in their education. Also, they could use the money in the wrong ways as they are financially immature yet. Finally, as not all families could afford paying money to their kids, it brings disputes between parents and children in poor families.