TPO-34 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.Us

Undoubtedly, the technology has intertwined in our living styles to a degree that raised concerns regarding its influence on young individuals. In this vein, one controversial issue is whether the technology made it harder for teachers to teach students or not. Personally, I believe that not only technology has not affected the learning productivity of students, but also it positively contributed to the efficiency of their learning and the following are the reasons to substantiate my view.

To begin with, schools and teachers have greatly taken advantage of this technological revolution by introducing online tutoring and testing sessions and adapt it in a way that students could learn more effectively. Nowadays, most schools incorporated online and virtual classes that students could participate in even if they cannot physically attend classes, due to sickness or other situations hindering them to be present in class. This is a unique opportunity that allows students following their school schedules seamlessly without interruption. My personal example elaborates on this point. Two years ago, when I was in high school, I got the flu and that did not allow me to be in school for almost two entire weeks. I was really worried that I would lag behind other students and would fail my final exams but thanks to the online course application that our school had developed that time, I was able to catch up with other students and virtually be in classes with them. This clearly shows that the technology has removed some of the traditional barriers in the way of learning.

Furthermore, having access to mobiles and socializing with friends via social networks, offers a unique opportunity for students to be in touch with their friends and discuss their problems regarding school courses. Besides, sometimes a teacher might ask students to create groups in social media so that he can assign projects to groups and students could be able to work on their projects even when they are not in school. Again, my personal example drives this notion home. As I was sick and I could not attend school for a short period, a group was created by one of my friends and I was added to it so we could work on a project that our calculus teacher assigned to us. Within the group, we constantly argued and discussed the project and sometimes we post funny things just to shake off our frustrations. Finally, we were able to hand in our project completely and scored the top in our class. Had our social group not been existed, we could have not been able to submit our assignment on time as some members, including me, could not attend group sessions physically.

To sum up, given all the points and examples mentioned above, I believe that the technology has made it easier for teachers to instruct students, this is because not only they can provide online tutoring sessions using the internet and communication devices but also students have the chance to be more engaged with their course projects via social groups they create with their friends.