Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, societies have to rely on various norms and laws to be stable and prevent disorder. Although the abundance of such regulations sometimes raises the question: are some of these laws are restrictive? especially for the young generation? While some people hold the mentioned view, others believe that these laws are not strict and, in fact, they are necessary for the wellbeing of both the young and society. Personally, I am in accord with the latter and the following are the reasons to substantiate my view.

To begin with, some rules that are mandated by society are directly related to both the youth's physical and mental health, so while they might be interpreted as strict from a young mind’s perspective, they are justifiable. For instance, regulations issued regarding the prohibition of selling alcoholic beverages and cigarettes to young individuals below the legal age are essential to keep them from endangering their health by consuming such products.

Moreover, there are other laws concerning the mandatory education of youth, which might be considered strict but they are needed to maintain an educated society and guarantee its future prosperity. The defiance nature of youths certainly is in contrast with rules that dictate what they have to do, and it obliterates their minds to perceive the essence of these regulations which ultimately benefit both their own and their society’s interests. For instance, when I was a kid, I hated the fact that I had to go to school every day, which I did not like at all. I thought that going to school deprives me of playing with my friends and being with my beloved family. Growing to a young educated man, I am now grateful that at first I was compelled to continue my education. Having done so, granted me a fair social and financial status since now I am a successful engineer contributing to many prominent projects in my hometown.

To sum up, I believe that the rules society expects juveniles to obey are not strict. This is because not only these laws guarantee their mental and physical welfare, but also it makes them developing a successful character in the future benefitting themselves and their societies.