TPO 47- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often said the era that we live in is the information age as people can have access to a handful of news around the world in the blink of an eye through the broadcasting media. However, whether one must expose himself to such news or not regardless of the fact that it might be neutral to his personal life is a matter of debate. In this regard, people have contrasting views. While some believe that it is crucial to catch up with the latest news around the globe no matter that it affects us directly or not, others hold the opposite view. Personally speaking, I am in accord with the latter statement and the following are the reasons to substantiate my view.

To start with, being aware of the events occurring in the world, enables us to get in touch with news regarding the natural catastrophes that hit nations and to assist them by providing humanitarian aids. Now and then, natural disasters, like earthquakes, tsunamis, and tornados ravage a part of the planet and impose difficulties on people who get hit by those phenomena. In this case, it is important that the rest of the world become aware of the situation as soon as possible and offer their condolences and assistance to the suffered nation. Therefore, following the world's affairs from the media may not have a great impact on our lives, but certainly, it affects the lives of those who are in dire need of basic requirements, by raising a worldwide alliance to help them, since a catastrophic calamity devoured their homes and families.

Moreover, following the world news increase our general knowledge about other countries which might not directly affect our lives but it will come in handy when we travel abroad. The information about different cultures and countries that we get from the news media is the cheapest and the most convenient way to better know the world beyond the borders of our homelands. The importance of such knowledge may not be clear for us at the time being but it reveals itself when we decide to study abroad or travel to another county for business or pleasure. In such circumstances, a trivial fact that we have learned it accidentally from a piece of news related to the country in which we are going to travel could cause a good feeling. For instance, once I traveled to India to conduct business. I had learned by chance a traditional way of greeting in Hindi when I was watching news about India a couple of years ago and It remained in my mind as I found it peculiar. At the airport, I took a cab and I greeted the driver in the traditional way. The driver was so delighted that a foreigner greeted him in their way and he did not accept any money for the fair when he took me to the hotel. So, a trivial point created a pleasing memory for me on that trip.

To sum up, I believe that being aware of world news, even if it does not affect us directly is important. This is because it enables us to stay tuned with natural disasters across the world and to help the injured via humanitarian organizations and because little facts that we might learn about other countries which would come in handy in the future when we travel abroad.