TPO 47- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the quick development of technology and mass media provided all strata of people with accessibility to different news resources. For instance, news of different categories including political, science, sports and so on are available on the internet and people can browse the news quickly. In this regard, there is a question that whether it is important to know all events occurring around the world or not, regardless they will have any effect on your life. I believe this issue is of importance due to some reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

Tracking news, especially political news, broaden people's viewpoint toward political issues all around the world and indirectly affect their life. Every day on news channels commentators analyze the political events from different aspects and argue about potential consequences on the global situation. Following political news help people to enhance their reasoning power and problem analysis. Hence, this issue indirectly affects their lives and they would be able to consider their own problems from different views and analyze and address them. Also, when people have deeper political knowledge, which is gained through following the news and interpretations, they would be able to make a wiser decision in their country's elections and choose a candidate who can adopt good foreign policies which would be beneficial for the future of their country.

Secondly, nowadays lots of violence are occurring around the world. For instance, most of the middle east countries are involved in the war and lots of civilians are killed by mass destructive weapons. Tracking international news makes us aware of what is happening around the world do our human duty related to these catastrophes. For example, people from other nations can help the war-torn people by their philanthropic aids. Also, by participating in protest marches they can show their opposition against militaristic policies of some countries. In some cases, these activities make the political authorities to retreat from their hostile position.

The last point to be mentioned is that news is a great source for enhancing general knowledge. Each day news channels broadcast the latest development in the sphere of science, technology, art, and sports. Tracking the news provides an opportunity for you to be up to date and increase your knowledge and it has an indirect effect on your social life in the long run. When you have broad knowledge in different areas, you have a lot to say when you are with your friends and you can easily start a conversation with others and even make new friends as knowledgable and sociable people attract more friends.

For short, I strongly believe that watching the news and knowing what is happening all around the world is of importance as it will broaden your horizon from a political perspective, it leads to civil activities, and improve social life.