TPO 40: Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays one of the main preoccupations of parents is about their children' performance at school. They constantly try to stimulate them with different strategies to study hard and get good grades at school. Among these strategies, one of them which is frequently used by parents is offering children money for each high grade. I think this approach is like a sword with two edges and have both advantages and disadvantages. However, if parents use it in a cautious manner it would be beneficial. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through three conspicuous reasons.

The most significant issue to be considered is the importance of learning the concept of endeavor by children. It is crucial that children learn, nothing comes easily and they should strive for everything. This strategy would be a proper choice to deeply establish this concept for them in their early ages. Gradually, they learn how to set a goal and persistently move toward it until they reach their destination, that is mainly because they have an impetus. From a psychological perspective children who nurture in this way would have a more prosperous life in future rather than other children who have everything readily whenever they want without any effort. As the first group believes that patience and constant endeavor are the main keys to success, they would withstand obstacle and difficulties in their way toward their goals. However, confronting a tough situation, the second group would set aside their aims easily.

Another issue coming to my mind which is worthy to mention is that this approach encourages children to improve their performance and correct their weaknesses. As a personal experience, when I was a middle school student, my father offered me a considerable sum of money for becoming the top student for a semester. For the first semester, I was not successful in contrast to my huge efforts. It was mainly due to my incorrect method of study, hence, I tried to change my strategy and it worked out and I became the top student for the next semester. In fact, my father's offer was a strong motivation for me to find out what was wrong in my performance and correct it.

As I mentioned in the first paragraph, this approach has its own pros and cons. It is probable that by this method, the value of science and education in children' mind be replaced by money. Hence, it is of great importance that parents clarify the significance of education for their children. Also, they should not ignore the importance of verbal encouragement and it is better that parents give money to their children not for high grades but for each little progress they make in their studies. Therefore, they understand that their parents appreciate their efforts and love them for what they are and what they want to be. It is crystal clear that if this method accompanies with mental and verbal motivation it would positive impacts on children's self-esteem and self-confidence. In fact, parents kill two birds with one stone, not only their children would get good grades, but also they would have higher self-confidence.

In conclusion, I believe if this method is implemented in the correct way its advantages outweigh its disadvantages since children learn the concept of endeavor, how to correct themselves and make progress in their school work, and improve their self-confidence.