Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

School is a very important stage in our lives and achieving good scores in school would give the kid the opportunity to enter top universities. Personally, I believe that offering money for children to encourage them to be excellent in their school is a good idea, as it motivates them to study hard, I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay,

First of all, appreciating other's work gives them a good feeling toward what they have been appreciated for. And one of the most effective ways to appreciate someone's work is to give him a prize for his accomplishment. When the parents offer a prize for their kids if they get good marks in their school, this would make the children feel that their parents care about them, and they will be happy for their success. In contrast, if the children feel that even if they get high marks or low marks it is the same for their parents, they might feel that they are ignored, and this would have a negative impact on their personalities in the future. A friend of mine is a compelling example of this. He used to get high grades when we were in th intermediate school, but he did not feel he got the appropriate appreciation from his parents that he deserves. This ignorance for his achievements resulted in being careless in high school, and his grades became extremely bad.

Secondly, parents should keep their children motivated to study, and offering them money is really efficient way to do that. A study by the school of education at the University of Cairo shows that using external motivations for the kids in early school life results in getting high scores in the following study years. For instance, if the kids know that they will get a reward if they do well in their studies, the will try to do the best they can and come over all the obstacles they might face to get that reward. Therefore, in the long term, they will be self-discipline people and ambitious individuals who gets what they aim for.

To conclude, if parents offer money for their kids when they get good grades, the children will feel that their effort is appreciated, and they will make the best to achieve their goals.