Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.
Do you think this is a good idea?
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
No one can deny the fact that parents would choose to do anything to encourage their child to get good grades in the examinations. If I were asked, I would definitely eliminate the idea of
offering money to children for getting high grade in the school. Personally, it is my firm believe that giving money would result in no good conclusion.
To begin with, children should not be introduced to the concept of earning money. It will discourage them to learn something from studying, rather they will try to earn money through
studying. Again, many of child will be unable to produce high grades and thus fail to get money from their parents. But, as they are already exposed to the notion of earning, they will
try to earn through doing other things. This can be stressed even to committing crimes. I have to admit my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience.
You see, one of my younger cousins was given money for high marks. He loved to spend the moeny he earned by buying things that his parents would not generally give him. But, after 2 years
he begin to get low grades. As a result, his didn't get money from his parents, so he started to steal from them. Consequently, he began to steal from markets too. For this reason, I think giving
money to children will be harmful in the long run.
Secondly, children should be given toys and offered vacations for good grades. Because, it will not just make them interested in studying but also develop them as individuals. It will help them
to develop their sense of surroundings and not getting involved in any financial matters. Drawing from my own experience, my youger brother was given trips and tours for each good result he
produced. So, after going on each tour, he gained more experience of cultures anfd norms. He came to know about diffence in people which helped him become a very intellligent human
being. Moreover, all the transactions and money spending was done by my father, which made by brother not being exposed to money. So, he didn't care about, rather cared about surfing
and roaming. It is certainly clear to see why money should be kept at a distance from the children and why they should be made to concentrate on other things like amusements and
enjoyments.
In light of the above-mentioned reason, I would always refute the idea of offering money to young personnels and would encourage that children should be never exposed to money in
any situation.