TPO 46: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our society people are subjected to lots of external factors that could easily impress them and orient their behavior and notions. A controversial question regarding this issue is whether the opinions of celebrities mean more to youngsters rather than older people or not. I do believe that youngsters are more impressed by athletes and renowned figures than older people. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint through some apparent reasons.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that there is a huge difference between youngsters and older people and consequently they have their own specific stimulus. One of the most obvious differences between these two groups the level of their overall knowledge, experience, and insight about different issues. As you know when someone is in the pinnacle of success and fame some groups of people follow their thoughts and orientation without deeply think about them. Also sometimes the media exaggerate these characters and intensify the receptivity of some groups, especially youngsters, to the opinion of these figures. It is mainly due to the fact that young people are not fully matured and do not have deep insight into some matters. Therefore they are blindly more open to the opinion of celebrities and follow them. On the other hand, older people have a broader horizon about issues and the opinion of famous people can not easily impress them.

Another equally important and clear point coming to my mind is the matter of age. In each stage of life, human has different interests, concerns, and priorities. In this regard, there is an obvious discrepancy between the interests of young people and older people. For instance, youngsters are very careful about their appearance and like to appear up to date. Therefore, they take celebrities as their role models in fashion and other issues and follow their lifestyles and their opinion in these areas is important for them and young people try to track them in social media. However, older people have drastically different concerns and preoccupations. They try to live their own lives and the celebrities' opinions do not matter to them.

To sum up, considering the previous paragraphs, I believe it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that the opinion of celebrities is more important for youngsters than older people. It is mostly due to the fact that young people are more receptive to external stimuli and also they have different interests than older people and their desires are closer to that of celebrities.