TPO 22: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

In our modern era having acceptable knowledge about social and political affairs is of great importance and there are lots of available sources like mass media and publications which provide information for all people. Every individual has his/her own notion about political issues based on their knowledge. In this regard, some people adhere to the opinion that teachers should not talk about their political and social views in the classroom. I strongly concede this statement due to some obvious reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently substantiate my point of view.

The most prominent point to be mentioned is that most of the students, especially teenage groups, are blinded to the facts and could be easily deviated and everyone with a little speaking skill can wash out their brain. We should consider the fact that except the political and social experts other people's knowledge about these issues is limited, they do not have a broad horizon, and most of the time their inferences are distorted by lots of external factors. In this respect, teachers are not an exception and they should not easily talk about their viewpoints. Most of the students consider their teacher as their role model and it is probable that they follow their teacher thoughts without any logical inference. Therefore, it is crucial that teachers do not expose their beliefs and political views in the classroom.

Another important point coming to my mind is that when teachers reveal their political view it would not have any beneficial repercussion, as political discussions in the class are merely a sheer waste of time. Furthermore, it is probable that students change their minds about their teacher. As a personal experience, when I was a master student, in the first section of the radiobiology class, the professor initiated to talk about his political view and his speech lasted for 40 minutes. He had totally groundless notions and squandered the time of the class. It was a bad first impression and lots of the students changed their minds about him as they understood that he is a radical opponent of the conservative party.

In conclusion, with contemplation for the aforementioned reasons, it is crystal clear for everyone that teachers should not talk about their political views in the classroom. As they have limited knowledge which would be misleading and also the students may change their minds about their teachers.