TPO 34: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

In recent years technological advances have dramatically changed our life. It is like a coin with two sides. One side is the noticeable advantages of technology that have affected our lives in a positive way and another side is its negative consequences. In this regard, some people adhere to the view that it has made educating children an arduous task. From my own perspective, this statement is true. Among some evident reasons that support my viewpoint, I will delve into two conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

Regarding this issue, the most prominent point to be mentioned is the fact that new technologies especially cell phones, online games, and social networking have gained broad appeal, especially between youngsters and children. Besides these technologies are highly addictive and once a child makes a connection with those, a strong temptation makes them spend more time on those technologies and gradually it becomes a priority for them. Therefore, it is really hard to convince them to allocate more time to their study and school work. My younger sister is a compelling example of what I mean. When she was 14 we always had struggles about her overuse of the internet and not paying enough attention to her study. Those days she spent virtually 10 hours a day on the internet and it was a sheer waste of time. Consequently, she experienced a sudden decline in her grades in school.

Another equally noteworthy point coming to mind is that new technologies expose children to lots of issues and topics which may adversely affect their behavior and form their personality in a negative way and consequently make the process of educating them more difficult not only for their teachers but also for their parents. For instance, online games mostly contain violence scenes and gradually develop an aggressive and brutal behavior in children. Furthermore, some of the provided information on the internet and discussions in social networks create a misconception in children's mind that makes it difficult for teachers to educate them properly especially about their social behaviors. For instance, children are more receptive to technology rather than their parents and teachers and these technologies propel children toward a self-centered characteristic that ignores others and puts themselves first. It is really difficult for teachers to profoundly internalize some ethical concepts for children like sympathy.

In short, the previous paragraphs lead use to draw the conclusion that nowadays educating children is more difficult than it was in the past. This is mainly due to the reason that the dramatic appeal of recent technologies which is attractive for children has made them less passionate about education and it also creates misconceptions in children.