TPO 54: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to allocation the government budget to different areas there has been a controversial question about whether it is good that governments spent money to support arts or would be better to support athletics. From my own perspective, athletics has received considerations and supports from governments, on the other hand, arts have been ignored in recent years. Hence, it is of great importance to spend money to support art due to some obvious reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint.

The most prominent point regarding this issue is the fact that art plays a pivotal role in the identification of a nation and a nation without art does not have a specific identity. It is crystal clear for everyone that art is the best approach to convey the culture and historical background of a nation. Cinema and theater industry is a compelling example of what I mean. Nowadays in my country, Iran, what is performed on the theater stages exactly has a root in the rich culture of our country and it provides its spectators an opportunity to enhance their knowledge about historical and cultural issues. Also, theater can have further benefits for society. It can readily affect its beholders and educate them, emphasize the ethical values for them, and propel the society toward a higher level of culture. Therefore, it is crucial that governments invest money in the sphere of art.

Another equally noteworthy point coming to my mind is the economical outcomes of spending money on arts. There are young people who are really interested in art, but since most of the artistic careers are not financially supported by the government they do not follow their dreams and have to choose a totally different career. If governments initiate to support arts lots of youngsters will be able to materialize their dream and they will start their dream job. Another positive consequence of this step would be a noticeable reduction in unemployment in a society. When the government provides a good fund for arts, lots of workshops will be established. Therefore, artisans and craftsmen can have more job opportunities.

In short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to draw the conclusion that governments should spend money to support arts as it can enhance the culture and knowledge of society. Also, it can provide more job opportunities for youngsters who are interested in art.