TPO 44: Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As you know, it is very crucial to allocate time to spend with immediate family members as it fortifies the bases of their relationship. But unfortunately, nowadays both parents have to work in order to provide children with convenient living. They are usually a full-time employee and busy with their occupation, hence, do not have enough time to spend with their children. Regarding this issue, some people hold the view that for these parents the best use of time is to have fun playing games or sports, however, other people believe it is more beneficial to spend that time helping the children with their school assignment. Personally, I concur with the first viewpoint. Among various reasons which support my point of view, I will delve into three main reasons in the following paragraph.

First of all, the most prominent point to be mentioned is that playing with children and spending funny moments with each other enhance the intimacy between parents and children and bridge the gap between them. Intimacy forms trust in the relationship between children and parents hence, children consider their parents as their friend and share their problems with their parents and try to get over the difficulties with their help and companionship. By contrast, children who do not experience such moments with their parents won't develop a strong connection with them. They prefer to solve their problems on their own and sometimes run into more serious problems. Hence, it is of great importance that parents play with their children even if they have limited time.

Furthermore, according to psychological studies playing games with children has a direct impact on their creativity. Playing a game is an active learning process in which children learn how to interact with their surrounding environment and spark creative ideas for how to play a game. As a personal experience, when I was 10 years old, my father used to play brain teaser with me whenever he has free time. During the game, he shared his own experience of how to use different techniques to win the game. Those experiences actually helped me to develop my logical abilities and learn how to think about a problem and create a solution and come up with a new idea. Besides, it helped me to create a strong tie with my father. Also, I think a private tutor could help children with their school work but nobody could play the role of parents of giving attention and affection to children and having fun times with them.

For short, contemplating the previous paragraphs, I think it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that it is far better that parents spent their leisure time with their children and play with them rather than help them with their school assignments. This approach not only fortifies their family tie and intimacy but also have positive impacts on children's cognitive abilities.