TPO 21: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

It is crystal clear that in modern society one of the main objectives of every individual is being successful in his/her own career. There are myriad factors that lead to prospering in the future job. In this regard, some people hold the view that social skills like the ability to relate well to people are more important than studying hard in school. From my standpoint, this statement is undoubtedly true. There are several reasons that support my idea, among them I will substantiate three conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The most prominent issue that should be considered is that your knowledge on its own could not be precious unless putting it into practice and it is only achievable by continuing the learning process through a pertinent job. In this respect, having the ability to effectively connect with other people especially elite groups in your profession plays a pivotal role. Interaction with experienced and knowledgeable people could definitely help you to understand new things, recognize your weaknesses and improve them, and boost your knowledge and abilities. But when you just relay on yourself or do not make a new connection with others, progression in your job would not speed up and it would be less likely to be successful.

The second point coming to mind is that when you have the ability to establish a good relationship with other people and present yourself and your abilities properly others can trust in you and your abilities and consider you a reliable person who can accomplish his/ her responsibilities. As a personal experience, 4 years ago, I was painfully shy and had serious social phobia. Although I had the required knowledge and strive for my project I was not successful as I could not present my self to others and it became a barrier for me that kept me away from materializing my ideas. On the other hand, my colleagues who had the ability to self-branding and making connections with others made progress in a short time and were more successful. Therefore, it is of great importance to have the ability to relate well to people.

Furthermore, having the ability to relate well to people would help you to build a great network of people who could link you to others if you had any obstacle or problem in your job. Hence, you could easily solve the problems within your job and do not stick to problems. Also, in some cases, this network would help you to find a better job position and pave the way for your progress. By contrast, if you have not strong connections and links it would be really hard to get higher positions. Therefore, besides studying hard, it is very important to come out of your shell and interact with others in a wise manner in order to be successful in your future job.

For short, I believe it is reasonable to draw the conclusion that having good relations with people plays a pivotal role in your success in your future career as it helps you to enhance your knowledge, improve your weaknesses, capture others' trust, and make progress and get higher positions.