TPO 41: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no doubt that since the dawn of human civilization, teachers have played a pivotal role in societies as they train and educate several generations and prepare them for their own future roles in their community. Because of the specific nature of this profession, teachers have had a kind of dignity and value between people. However, recently there are two opposite views regarding this issue. Some people claim that teachers were more appreciated by society in the past, however, others hold a radically different view. From my own perspective, unfortunately, the first statement is true. Among several reasons which support my idea, I will delve into the most significant ones in the following paragraphs.

The most conspicuous point coming to my mind is that nowadays teachers do not have a good financial situation which emanates from the wrong government's policies. The governments do not allocate sufficient funding for the ministry of education, hence the teachers receive a low wage despite the heavy burden of their work. Year to year, other professions get a noticeable rise in their salary, while the teachers have a fixed wage and by an increase in the rate of inflation, they would be overwhelmed in their economic challenges. It is a bitter truth and it is morally wrong that today a vast majority of people appreciate each other based on their social position and financial power and due to this reason teachers' position is not appreciated by the society than the past.

Furthermore, one should also consider the literacy issue. In the past most of the people were illiterate, educational facilities were accessible for just a specific stratum of society. In those societies, the limited number of teachers were considered as the most knowledgeable people and they were respectfully appreciated by society. But later, the governments took some policies and implemented some effective approach in order to eradicate illiteracy. For instance, they established more schools, trained more adept teachers and provided funding for education, hence, people who could not afford private education had the opportunity to go to public schools. Gradually, the number of teachers and knowledgeable people increased and nowadays people's knowledge is not limited to undergraduate studies and in some societies the number of people who went further and have graduate and postgraduate degrees is considerable. Hence, teachers' role and position are not as conspicuous as before.

The final point I consider it worthy to bring up is the issue of the arrival of modern professions which are the direct consequence of advancements in different spheres of science and technology. In the past era, most of the people had occupations which had a close relationship with agriculture. For instance, peasant, landlord, shepherd or worker in an agricultural product factory. Therefore, the teacher was considered as a prestigious occupation and teachers had a high dignity and value in the society until the dawn of the modern era. Nowadays, there are lots of pivotal and complicated careers which require educated and dextrous people. Typically, these new professions are more prestigious than the teacher and have a higher salary. Hence the role of teachers in society is gradually fading out and they are not appreciated like before.

On the whole, as teachers are not financially potent, there are lots of people with a higher educational degree, and the presence of high prestigious careers, it makes sense to draw the conclusion that nowadays teachers are not appreciated by the society like the past.