In many places, students aged 12-18 are typically taught different subjects by different teachers, whileyounger students are usually taught by only one teacher all day long. Some people believe it would alsobenefit younger students to be taught by several

Establishing an effective education system in which students have the opportunity to maximize their productivity has always been a crucial issue in societies. In this regard, authorities have proposed new approaches to perfect the basic education for younger students, generally ones who are below 12 years old. Some believe that using several tutors to teach pupils aged 12 or younger is beneficial to improve their learning process. However, others positively disagree with this notion. Personally Speaking, I am in accord with the latter and the following are the reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

To begin with, in lower grades, students need to establish an emotional connection with their teachers to learn better, and one teacher, throughout the year, has enough time to cultivate this friendship. Psychologists believe that since children in early education are new to the school environment and they have not experienced other communities than their homes, they need to create a sentimental connection with their teacher to fill the emotional gap resulting from being away of their family. Only after such friendship has shaped, pupils are willing to attentively heed to teacher’s sayings. Although the assimilation process is important, it is a time-consuming process and demands the teacher to spend many hours with students to break the ice. Having mentioned this, it is clear that getting acquainted with several teachers takes much more time than knowing one, which makes it impossible in the course of a school year.

Furthermore, in primary schools, courses are mostly general knowledge, thus they do not need certain levels of expertise and can be taught by one teacher. Besides, as each teacher might have his unique approach in teaching, young students might get confused about which method they have to follow. Consequently, this confusion leads to frustration affecting their learning adversely. To put it more vividly, consider the following example. When I was an eight-year-old student my teacher got sick in the middle of the year and she could not attend school for almost three months. Her replacement was a good teacher but he started to teach us some of the materials we had learned, including the multiplication table, in different ways. Having memorized the table with our teacher’s method, it was hard for us to adapt ourselves to the new approach. Finally, when our teacher recuperated and came back to class she was astonished because we constantly made mistakes in delivering the right answers to the products of numbers that she asked. As we wanted to answer with the old method, it created inconsistency in our minds. This example shows how different teaching approaches bring about a learning disorder in young Pupils.

To sum up, I strongly disagree with the idea that pupils below 12 years old should be taught by different teachers, this is because establishing an emotional bond with their teacher is a prerequisite for learning better, and because having different instructors teaching same contents negatively affects the learning consistency in their minds.