Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's a waste of money for Government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

The universe is infinite and unknown to human beings and, as we all know, humans have always craved to explore the unknown. However, in our world, there has always been a mixed feeling about space explorations. In this vein, there is a controversy between people who believe that it is essential to explore the unknown in the deep space and government should commit to supporting such explorations, and those holding an opposite view that allotting financial aids to such activities is a fancy way to waste money. Personally, I am in accord with the former view and the following are the reasons substantiating my view.

To begin with, digging into the deep space provides the opportunity for humans to find potential celestial plants that might contain an abundance of invaluable resources that on Earth are vital yet rare. Photos and sampling data acquired from space missions conducted by space explorers have already proved that the moon has large quantities of helium 3 which is a crucial element in nuclear fusion technology. To put it more vividly, nuclear fusion is a promising process, the same process occurring inside stars that empowers those gigantic galactic masses, that, if commercialized, would supply the energy demand of the world without having the risk of leaving dangerous radioactive wastes in current power plants operating based on the nuclear fission process. Accordingly, Allocating financial resources to identify other planets with such invaluable materials and more important than that, reducing the cost of mining and transportation of the raw materials are hardwired with the survival of humans in the future.

Moreover, sponsoring further space explorations enables scientists to determine the potential threats to Earth from outer space, so it allows us to be prepared to take proper measures to such threats. To elaborate on this, we are now fully aware, thanks to the scientific studies, of a vast number of meteorites and comets moving at insane speeds capable of bringing catastrophe if their track veers into Earth. Notwithstanding, space is so boundlessly immense and certainly there are greater dangers that we have not yet discovered. As a result, Investment on space projects and explorations assist governments to detect any serious threat before befalls on us and to be prepared to take proper measures to deal with them.

To Sum up, given all the points and examples provided above, I believe that it is essential for the government to financially support space projects. This is because not only it enables them to find valuable resources of rare and crucial materials outside Earth, but also it helps them to become aware of potential threats to Earth and be prepared to counter them.