It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

The matter of establishing a suitable working hour, which people unanimously agree upon, has long been a controversial issue in societies. In this context, individuals are often express contrasting views. While some hold the opinion that working fewer days a week but for long hours is more beneficial, others positively oppose this view and assert that one has to work more days a week and for fewer hours per day. A far as I am concerned, I opt to support the latter. In what follows, I will delve into the reasons substantiating my standpoint.

First thing to mention is that working for longer hours causes exhaustion and fatigue, thereby affecting one’s efficiency in work place adversely. Each person has to work only for eight hours a day, as it is suggested by health organizations and is decreed by work legislation, and exceeding this limit certainly deteriorates his productivity. In such situation, one’s mind does not respond properly to fulfill his job’s descriptions and he is prone to err more frequently.Besides, Making mistakes due to fatigue might have other inevitable consequences too. For example, an employee who works long hours a day might not conduct his affairs well enough causing his boss dissatisfaction and probably get expelled from his Job.

Moreover, having long holidays per week means that people have numerous amount of time to rest and having pleasure. Although not immediate, but such lifestyle makes people lax eventually. As a result, when their working days start over, they find it hard adapting to intense physical activities. After a while, they do not experience the same pleasant feeling which they had during works before and begin to absorb physical and mental tensions caused by Job’s discontent.

Finally, although it might seem that three working days is a tempting alternative for employees, from an employer’s perspective it is not an appealing option at all. In this scenario, businesses have to extend their working hours to night hours and most of them do not opt to choose this schedule since this will increase their utility payments. For instance, electricity tariff is higher during hours of high demand which always occur in the night. Having considered it from a different perspective, it is plain that fewer working days is not a pleasant alternative.

To sum up, I strongly believe that working five days a week and for shorter hours is a far better option than fewer working days and long hours. This is because, working more than eight hours a day causes fatigue, thereby decreasing productivity. Also, having more off-days develop laziness and finally, from an employer’s view, extended working hours in a day charges extra money for utility bills.