TPO 53 Writing IndependentDo you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Undoubtedly, deciding how to allocate budget to different sectors for sustainable development of nations is a challenging decision for governments. In this regard, one of the important problems raised in recent years, due to the technological development, is whether governments should assign more budget to improve internet-based infrastructures or other sectors such as the public transport. While some believe that governments should spend more money to ease internet access, others believe that sectors like public transport need more attention, hence, more monetary resources. Personally, I am in accord with the latter and the following are the reasons substantiating my view.

To begin with, the majority of people are dependent on urban transportation in their daily lives for commute, so this makes sense that governments should first meet the demand of the majority and facilitate the use of the transportation system for people. the precarious economic condition that is, mostly, prevalent in developing and underdevelopment countries, imposes challenges on people’s lives to provide their family and they need to cut expenses by using cheaper means of transportation like the mass transit. In such circumstances, governments should fulfill their duties towards people and assist them in this time of economic recession by financially supporting the projects improving the transportation system.

Moreover, having an overhauled and modern public transportation directly impacts the air pollution issue that most of the industrialized cities in the world are struggling with. Air pollution seriously affects the citizens’ health condition and brings about chronic respiratory system diseases like asthma. In its extreme, highly toxic pollutants infect and alter cells in the human body causing various cancers in the long run. By renovating the transportation system, for example, replacing hybrid vehicles with old-fashioned diesel engines, the air quality of cities will be imrpoved drastically. An example of my home town drives this notion home. While we have easy access to the high-speed internet connection and state-of-the-art communication technologies, the mass transit of the city is so inefficient and obsolete that almost every winter the number of people going to the hospital with breathing complaints doubles. Had the government prioritized the transportation system over the development of internet infrastructure, we would not have to be forced to breathe the toxic air of the city each day.

To sum up, I believe that governments should spend the majority of their budgets to recondition the transportation system. This is because not only the majority of people are dependent on the public transport in their daily lives, but also doing so will significantly improve the air quality of cities.