TPO 53 Writing Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

In today's modern world with its galloping progress, it is crucial for countries to spend their money wisely to improve their infrastructure. As long as investing in nation's necessary facilities is concerned, some are of the opinion that improving public transportation would be more beneficial for people, while others support the boosting internet availability. I-for one- subscribe to the latter idea on the ground that better internet can improve quality of life of people in quite a few aspects, among which, information, remote communication, and online businesses are of most importance.

To begin with, in today's world of technology, having easy access to information is of great consequences. Nowadays, people specially scholars, researchers, engineers, and employees of modern technological corporations are constantly employing internet as one their essential source of information. For example, professors can be informed about latest developments in their own expertise and be up-to-date, which is a mandatory element for being a successful researcher.

Second, communication via internet is one of the most amusing and useful implements of this fantastic tool. In these days, people need to be in contact from long distances including young people who are away of their home for education, companies with their peers all around the world, or news agencies with their reporters. Therefore, it is vital for every country to provide readily accessible internet for everybody. Moreover, this feature can be accentuated in special circumstances like the current pandemic situation. Imagine if we didn't have proper internet connection during this tough period, how could we be in touch with our friends and families, and how companies would continue to work in this situation?

The last but not the least reason which reinforces the preceding assertion that improving internet infrastructures are more important than public transportation has to do with online businesses. Today, online businesses are of most important facets of every society's economy. For example, Amazon is one the most profitable companies of the world. These online businesses is beneficial for the economy of the country and also for the people. For instance, online shopping helps people to purchase easily with broad options and saving a lot of time. Moreover, it reduces the unnecessary commuting and helps the traffic jam and air pollution to decrease.

All in all, I do believe that investing in internet is more important than investing in public transportation because people can get required data online, they can be in contact with each other, and online companies are of great importance for a country.