In areas where there are many restaurants, some people prefer to buy their meals in restaurants very frequently, rather than cooking and eating meals at home. Other people prefer to cook most of their meals at home and only rarely eat in a restaurant. Whi

In today’s world, fast foods and restaurants are virtually in every corner of cities. Booming of the industry has raised this question between people which one is more preferable, eating food out or making them at home? Although many people might choose the ease of eating out, I prefer to have my food at home for the reasons that I will explore in the following.

The first thing to mention is that home-made foods are by far healthier than meals consumed in restaurants. To make their foods tasty and appealing to costumers, restaurants use inordinate amounts of ingredients like sugar, salt and fry almost everything with an awful amount of oil. Although delicious, overconsumption of meals containing these ingredients ensues diseases such as diabetes and hypertension which, in the worst-case scenario, the latter might inflict heart or brain attacks. To further elaborate on this, let’s take my friend as an example. He had been a fast food maniac for several years, but a few months ago he visited a doctor for a heart throbbing. Having thorough physical examinations and various blood tests, the doctor told him that he had a small heart attack since one of his heart’s veins was blocked by accumulated fatty acids in his blood. Fortunately, proper treatment rehabilitated my friend, but he always regrets it deeply that let this happened to him by insanely consuming harmful foods.

Furthermore, by eating food at home, we could save lots of money since food prices in restaurants are very expensive these days. Owners of restaurants have to pay a fair amount of their revenue for expenses such as labor costs, utility bills and rent, so to keep the whole business running, they have to increase the price of their foods. On the other hand, while this increase in prices is justified, it causes people could not afford to eat out regularly. We could cut these unnecessary expenses and save up to use it for more apt occasions in the future by eating at home. My personal experience drives this notion home. After I accepted to university, I had to separate from my parents and live in a city that the university was. During all these years that I studied, I managed to cook for myself and since it cost cheaper than eating out, I saved up most of the funds that university paid me for my scholarship. Returning to my hometown after graduation, I was able to rent a place to launch a startup with a couple of people I became friends with at the university. Not letting me be tempted to eat in many restaurants near my mansion, thus saving money was a great help since renting a place was our biggest concern and handling it sped up our prosperity.

To sum up, I prefer to eat food at home rather than out. This is because home-made meals are healthier than processed food in restaurants and because we can save money by making food ourselves.