In areas where there are many restaurants, some people prefer to buy their meals in restaurants very frequently, rather than cooking and eating meals at home. Other people prefer to cook most of their meals at home and only rarely eat in a restaurant. Which one would you choose and why?

There is a controversial debate about whether people should spend their time cooking in modern society. Some people believe that in this modern world time have become more precious than before, so people should not waste it on kitchen while they can offer any kind of food from restaurants. However, personally, I am of the belief that cooking at home could be more beneficial for people because not only is it healthier than restaurant food, but also it makes economic sense.

The first illustration which can demonstrate my opinion is that home-cooked meals can be healthier and contain a decent amount of vital minerals and vitamins. As people care about themselves, they are cautious to not use harmful ingredients in their meal, they try to use fresh ingredients instead. However, restaurants' meals always have a high level of sugar, salt, and oil. These ingredients could cause negative effects on the digestive system, in order, resulted in serious diseases like obesity or heart attack. The more amount of salt a person uses, the more chance of heart attack for him. So people should be careful about their diets if they want to live for a long time. By cooking at home, they can control the number of harmful ingredients in their food. It is possible that their food is not as delicious as outdoor's meals, but it is certainly healthier.

Also, it cannot go unnoticed that eating at home can be cost effective. To elucidate more, eating at the restaurant or outdoors casts a lot, and people have to pay for a meal more than its value. For instance, a sandwich which can cost 5 dollars if it is cooked at home, is 15 dollars in the restaurant. This is because the restaurant has to pay its rent, salaries to its employees, and so forth. So it is obvious that it should be more expensive than home-cooked meals. In addition, there are some other costs which should a person eat outdoors, he should pay. To give a good example, consider a case in which a person decides to eat his meal at a fancy restaurant. He should first pay for a parking lot if he uses his personal vehicle, or pay for public transportation, and he should pay for tips.

In the light of above-mentioned reasons, I am a proponent of the idea that people should cook their meals as much as possible. I feel this way because not only it is healthier, but also they can save more money in this unfavorable economic situation.