A parent wants to help his or her child become better at a skill such as playing a musical instrument or competing in a sport. Some people believe that the best way to do so is for the parent to require the child to practice every day for a set number of minutes or hours. Other people believe that it is best for the parent to encourage the child to practice only as much as the child wishes, with no requirement about the amount of time spent practicing.

There is a controversial debate about how parents should treat with their children when they want their children to learn new skills like playing a musical instrument or competing in a port. Whether they should require the child to practice every day for a specific time, or just encourage the child and give him the freedom to practice as much as he wishes. As it is a moot point, there might not be a general agreement on this topic. However, personally, I am of the belief that should parents require the child to do what he should do, it could have negative consequences in his learning process. In the following, Two of the most important consequences are put forth to clarify my personal perspective.

The first illustration which can demonstrate my opinion is that if children practice unwillingly, they will be exhausted very soon, in order, their creativity and productivity will be decreased. To elucidate more, when children work more than their capability, their mental activity reduced, so their practice will not be effective anymore. To give a good example, consider a case in which a boy is forced to practice Piano every day for five hours. It is obvious that if this boy's ability for practicing is just two hours per day, he could not benefit of the rest of his practice time and he will tire of practicing. Moreover, this boring practicing can harm his interest in learning piano in the long run. Hence, by forcing this child to practice, his parents not only help him to learn better, but also they harm his interest in piano.

Also, It cannot go unnoticed that if there is not any obligation, the people do their tasks better. Broadly speaking, people tend to protest against what they are forced to do. People prefer to pursue their desires freely, and should they obligated to do a task they like to do, they will reluctant to do it probably. In the previous example, for instance, the boy learning Piano, he might prefer to learn another instrument or practice whenever he wants. This obligation can cause he hates Piano, even if he was interested in it at the beginning. So parents should give their children the freedom to follow their own interests, and pave the way for them instead of obligate them. By just encouraging their children, they will certainly obtain better results.

In the light of above-mentioned reasons, I am a proponent of the idea that parents should not force their children to learn new skills. I feel this way, because learning new skills by force not only reduce their learning process but also reduce their interest.