A parent wants to help his or her child become better at a skill such as playing a musical instrument or competing in a sport. Some people believe that the best way to do so is for the parent to require the child to practice every day for a set number of minutes or hours. Other people believe that it is best for the parent to encourage the child to practice only as much as the child wishes, with no requirement about the amount of time spent practicing. Which view do you agree with and why?

It is no doubt that parents play an indisputable role in the success of their children. A controversial question occupying the mind is that how a parent can help her child become better at a skill. Some people might be inclined toward the opinion that the best way is for them to encourage the child to practice only as much as the child wishes. I, nonetheless, believe that the parent had better require the child to practice every day for a definite time. In the following paragraphs, some conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The main reason is that by necessitating the child to do a specific work, the child will grow as an organized person. After a while, this behavior will be a part of the child's characteristics and child will have converted to a well-organized person. Consider an experience of mine as an example. When I was a 8 year-old child, we lived near the Caspian sea. My mother, who really cared about learning swimming, required me to practice every day for 2 hours. One year later, not only did I convert to a great swimmer, but also I learn how it is important to practice regularly to achieve success in other fields. Therefore, by setting consistent and reasonable plans I could get good grades in my educational life as well. Such experience in my life taught me the importance of being a well-organized person which by effort and perseverance would be able to make my dreams come true.

Another equally noteworthy point in supporting my opinion is that since children are not mature enough to consider the consequences of a decision, it seems that they will not be who can take such decisions for their future. In other word, they do not have enough experience to be able to set plans to reach a certain goal in their future lives without the parent's help. They live in the present and the only thing they want is to be happy through playing with friends, watching cartoons and things like that. They often will not think about the regular planning to reach a goal in the next years. Although children are clever creatures, they often do not the insight about future. They do not understand by their own that being accomplished in every skill is time-consuming and needs to regular plan and practice. According to a research carried out recently in the United Kingdom, children think the time does not go by and they usually will be occupied with their games and imaginations. So, it is parent's duty to show the child the right manner which the child should do accordingly so that he can be successful in different skills, such as playing instrument, dancing and so forth.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I have come to believe that it would be far better for parents to require the child to practice every day if they want to be successful in a certain skill. As a matter of fact, there are some other reasons that can be invoked to support my point of view, but let's suffice to this.